Today was Yumi’s first day in Grade 1.  She’s been waiting for school to start and she’s very excited to see her old friends and meet new ones.  She’s also getting bored at home since she’s been on vacation for almost three months.

I remember that when I was a student, I’ve always had mixed emotions with first days.  I feel both excitement and trepidation.  It’s a fresh start and I know that whatever I did last year won’t matter and won’t affect how I’ll perform this year.   But I’m also afraid of the challenges to be faced.  I don’t know if the teachers would be reasonable or terrifying.  I don’t know if I’ll like my classmates and my adviser.

Most of the time though, first days give me hope.  Hope that this will be the best year ever.  I always make promises to myself to make it so.  Unfortunately, just like new year’s resolutions, after a month or two, I’ve forgotten these promises and have reverted back to the old me.  After all, there’s always next year.

Now, it’s my children’s turn.  And I still make promises.  Like, stop nagging, let them make mistakes, let go.  And just like before, I’m hopeful that this will be the best year ever.  If not, there’s always next year. 🙂

 

