Tomorrow is Yumi’s first day in school.  I asked her what she wanted to bring to school for recess and she asked for lemon squares.  We used to buy individually packed snacks but I’m really concerned with the volume of trash generated so I thought, since I’m home anyway, I’ll make the snacks that they can bring to school.

I was supposed to make the lemon squares today so they’ll be really fresh for tomorrow but since I had to do some bread rolls yesterday (we bought some burger patties that we’re trying out), I decided to bake them yesterday as well.  I try to maximize the use of my oven to conserve gas and heat.

This is probably the fourth or fifth time I’ve made these.  The first time was a disaster, looks-wise since it stuck to the pan and it was really difficult to remove.  The next two or three times, I used parchment paper and that was good but wasteful in terms of parchment paper.  Yesterday, I decided to use Pyrex and it was the best decision ever.  It didn’t stick at all and no waste!

Of course we had to give it a taste.  I ate some, Yumi ate some, and Jon ate some.  By today, there were only 5 squares left and of course, I had to have one with my coffee and Yumi and Jon had to eat some too.  I actually wanted more but it’s all gone.

So, tomorrow, Yumi will have the same packed snack for school.

 

Maybe next week, she can bring an honest to goodness homemade snack to school.  🙂

Lemon Squares (recipe sent by my sister)

Ingredients:

For the crust:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup flour

1/4 cup powdered sugar (plus extra for dusting)

 

For the top layer:

1 cup sugar

2 T flour

1/2 t baking powder

2 eggs

1/2 t salt

3 T lemon juice

2 t lemon zest

(I’m very lazy so I actually just used the juice of one lemon)

 

Procedure:

1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F or 180 degrees C

2.  Cream the butter and sugar for the crust.

3.  Add the flour and mix well.

4.  Press the mixture on the pan and bake for 15 min.

5.  While the crust is baking, mix all the ingredients for the top layer together.

6.  Pour over the cooked crust.

7.  Bake for 25 min.

8.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar while still warm.

9.  Cool, cut, then serve. 🙂

 

 

