I’ve never heard of beer bread before but I encountered it while browsing through lots of food blogs.  Since the kids aren’t here right now, I decided to give it a try today.

It was very easy to make and quick too!  I didn’t really know what to expect but I actually liked it.  I loved the buttery crust and the dense soft bread.  It’s a little sweet and doesn’t really taste like beer but you can definitely smell the beer.  I had it for dinner with left-over lasagna.  I’ll probably have it again fore breakfast tomorrow.

Would you like a slice?

Ingredients:

3 cups flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 can beer

2 tablespoons melted butter

Procedure:

1.  Preheat oven to 200 degrees C.

2.  Sift all the dry ingredients in a bowl.

3.  Pour the beer in the bowl and mix well.

4.  Pour the batter in a buttered loaf pan.

5.  Bake for 50 minutes.

6.  Remove from the oven and pour the melted butter on top of the loaf.

7.  Return to the oven for another 10 minutes.

8.  Cool and eat! 🙂

