Last Thursday night, I was surfing the web looking for a new recipe to try and  I came across recipes for Hot Cross Buns.  I don’t really know what a hot cross bun tastes like and I’ve only encountered it as lyrics for a nursery rhyme.

Anyway, I saw a recipe with cinnamon and cinnamon chips and I just changed it to chocolate chips (since I’ve never even seen cinnamon chips here).  I tried out the new recipe on Friday.  I was so excited to taste it that I forgot to take a picture of it when it came out of the oven so these buns are three days old.  The glaze isn’t so shiny anymore…

When it first came out of the oven, I ate one very quickly.  After a couple of hours, I ate another one and it was as good as the first one.  Then, I had one for breakfast the following day and I guess the flavor was too much that I almost didn’t finish one piece.  And now, I don’t think I can eat another.  Good thing Jari still likes it and he had another one for breakfast today.  We still have four pieces though so I’m hope we can eat it all within the day.

In case you want to give it a try, here’s the recipe I’ve tweaked a bit:

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Buns

For the buns:

2 tablespoons instant dried yeast

½  cup sugar

1.5 cups lukewarm milk

4.5 cups plain flour

1 teaspoon salt

¼ cup butter melted

1 egg lightly beaten

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips

For glaze:

¼ cup sugar

¼ cup water

1.  Mix yeast, sugar and warm milk in a bowl and stir to remove any lumps. Set aside until frothy

2.  Add  the butter, egg, cinnamon and one cup of the chocolate chips to the yeast mixture.

3.  In the bowl of your mixer, sift flour and salt.  Make a well in the center and pour in the yeast mixture.

4.  Use the dough hook attachment of your mixer and knead until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl, about 5 minutes.

5.  Cover with cling wrap and leave to rise for about 1 hour to 1.5 hours until doubled in size.

6. Using your fist, punch down the dough and add the remaining chocolate chips. Knead lightly and divide into 16 balls. Place close together on a lined or greased baking tray. Cover with cling wrap and allow to rise in a warm place for 20 minutes. Preheat the oven to 200C/400F.

7. Bake for 20-30 minutes until done.

8.  While it is baking, get the glaze ready. Put the water and sugar in the microwave and heat for about 30 seconds then mix until the sugar is all melted.

9. When buns are ready, brush with glaze.

10.  Cool then serve. 🙂

