In my search for healthy snacks, I came upon a recipe for Crunchy Granola.  I’ve been wanting to try making granola bars but the recipes had so many ingredients which I don’t have on hand and I’m not particularly fond of like dried fruits.  What we do have are walnuts and rolled oats and these are the main ingredients of crunchy granola, so I decided to give it a try with a few minor changes.

These are the only things you’ll need to make your own:

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup water

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 cups rolled oats

1 cup cheerios (actually, the recipe called only for rolled oats but we have a pack of cheerios that nobody’s eating so I decided to substitute some of the rolled oats with it)

1 cup chopped walnuts

The procedure is pretty straightforward.

Combine the water and brown sugar in a small saucepan and heat until the sugar is melted.  Mix in the vanilla and salt.  In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients with the sugar mixture.  Spread the granola onto a cookie sheet and bake for around 45 min in a preheated 140 degree C oven.  Cool completely then store in an airtight container.

I’m thinking it would be good mixed in yogurt or milk for breakfast but I enjoyed eating it as is.  I’m guessing you can mix whatever nuts you prefer or maybe sunflower seeds and dried fruits if you like.  Today was the first time I made it and I really liked it.  I’ll probably make it again mixed with other kinds of nuts and seeds but at least now, I have a snack that I can enjoy guilt-free.  I just have to ensure that I don’t eat too much. 🙂

