As I mentioned yesterday, I was on a baking slump that I need to climb out of.  So, I decided to try a new bread recipe.

I made Country-style bread today.  I got the recipe from Simply Italian by Sophie Braimbridge.  We’ve had this book for years now but I haven’t tried any of the recipes yet.  I figured it was time to change that.

The recipe needed a starter that had to ferment for around 12 hours.  So I mixed that last night (or rather early this morning, around 12:15 am) before I went to bed.  I felt it was a bit dry and the book said the mixture should be bubbly when it was ready so I wasn’t sure if it would happen.  However, when I woke up, it was bubbly so I guess the yeast is alive and well and the recipe is correct.

After having breakfast, doing errands and stuff, it was time to make the dough.  I mixed the dough and let it rise.  I think the dough didn’t just double in size but even tripled  in less than two hours.  Time to shape the dough and let it rise again.  I decided to make two loaves since the flour needed for the recipe seemed too much for just one loaf.  I wanted to somehow make a loaf shape but I’m still getting the hang of shaping dough so the shape didn’t turn out the way I planned.  This was how the dough looked after rising and before baking.

While it was baking, I wanted to switch the pans to make the breads brown evenly since I noticed that the left part of the oven browned stuff more quickly than the right part.  But, when I opened the oven door, the handle broke!  I was just getting really pleased with my oven but now this happened again.  I don’t know if my oven is cursed or something.

Anyway, the loaves still turned out pretty well.

I had a couple of slices dipped in a mixture of balsamic vinegar with olive oil, some salt, pepper and dried Italian herbs.  Very good, if I say so myself.  I think I’m on track with my baking again.  Now, if only my over will stop giving me problems…

